Stanford Graduated Software Engineer Can't Afford Palo Alto

Huang moved to Palo Alto with her parents at the age of four. She attended local high schools and Stanford University. Yet despite her hard work, the Palo Alto housing market is too challenging for her to foresee a future in her hometown.

“I went to Stanford, I work as a software developer, I make a six-figure income, and I still have to live with three roommates,” Huang said. “What more can I do?”

Huang isn’t worried about not being able to pay her rent, but she is worried about doing anything that might upset her landlord. “Landlords have a lot more power here than they used to,” she said.

“They know how impossible it would be for their renters to find anything else locally.”

While her concerns for herself are real and serious — “With the current housing market, I’m afraid I’ll have to live with roommates for the rest of my life” — she’s equally concerned about what the housing market means for the many Palo Altans who weren’t fortunate enough to go to Stanford and make six figures.

“I’ve seen a lot of people accepting crazy conditions in order to have somewhere to live,” Huang said. “Conditions like, the renter can’t use the kitchen, or the renter can’t have guests after 10 p.m., or the rent is 80 percent of someone’s income.”

Someone needs to tell Huang there are other towns in the Bay besides Palo Alto… ever heard of Redwood City and San Jose?

2 Likes

Maybe she should find a life partner and move on…Living with roommates ia a dead end…

Or better yet become political and get rid of those old white nimbyies that run PA…

There is a YIMBY movement that’s gathering strength. Young people are getting sick of old farts complaining about building shadows. I am hopeful things will get better.

1 Like

Millennials should be marching for more housing instead of for BLM and Antifa…

2 Likes

Jane Huang is a lot better than antifa :heart_eyes: