Was The Ghost Ship Tragedy Inevitable?

When you combine high housing costs with NIMBY policies, isn’t the tragedy at Ghost Ship not surprising? I wonder what our own SF Bored of Stupidvisors take would/will be? Didn’t it stop a owner from CORRECTING an illegal residential use of a commercial building in the mid Market area awhile ago???

The whole housing mess was government’s creation. .I have been investing in Oakland since 1978…Better policies than SF…but the same old shit when it comes to the nightmares on approvals…I invest with Madison Park Properties. …They have been converting industrial and commercial spaces like the old Sears store into live work lofts…It is expensive and time consuming. .Better to go in and level block after block of these old warehouses and build 20 story apartment blocks…Politics won’t let it happen…

Since SF forbid landlords to evict tenants from illegal units, SF government and lawmakers should be under criminal investigation since it puts people’s life under risk.

Oakland government should evict all the artists and tenants from the illegal units. It’s a criminal act to allow people living or partying in illegal space.

Yeah, I mean, at what point does common sense make sense??? Of course, in the midst of this tragedy you see reports of artists (presumably) still insisting that places like Ghost Ship should remain. Wow, ok…

Homeless people don’t want to leave their hovels either…People are not good at assessing their risks…Afterall this building had been occupied for years illegally. .The landlord and the city didn’t seem to care or make any effort to remedy or evict…If state eviction laws were more sane, tenants wouldn’t be able to take over a building and run it without any rules…I bet the victims families sue the cty and the landlord…

The master tenant has the most liability. Doc it’s not only illegal, the illegal building was dangerous and did not install smoke detectors.