Where in Oakland for investment?

Hi All,

I have been thinking of investing in Oakland for long term buy and hold investment. I might be late to the game in Oakland given it has been sizzling hot, but as long as I can find cash flow property with future potential, I am interested in SFH to small multi-family.

But I am still studying about different neighborhoods. Any advice on locations or know any good investor friendly realtor who know the area is very much appreciated.

Cheers,
Myo

1 Like

myo, Seems like you are on a roll! on to your 4th property in 3 years! Where do you look for investment properties? A good realtor? off market listings? rehabs? whats your mantra?

I have a property in West Oakland. The neighborhood is sizzling hot right now. Just this month two, not one, million dollar modern houses came on market just a couple blocks down my street. I don’t think you can find anything cash flowing in West Oakland today, assuming you are getting mortgages with 20 to 30% down.

I recently posted an article about “Deep East Oakland”:

I have since set up a Redfin alert on properties around there. Cash flow is not a problem. If you believe that area will continue to gentrify, there may be opportunities in that area… Of course do your own diligence. :slight_smile:

RealEstatebull, I am still learning and refining my decisions. But to share, here are a few things about my tactics, I believe that you make profit when you buy not sell. I definitely go for property that needs rehab (just to avoid bidding war with emotional buyers) and less competition. Then I remodeled completely and rent to quality tenant with premium rents. Less headache for me in that tenant class. Right now, Daly City seems to be decent location that can give you around 5%-6% CAP with probably future potential due to proximity to SF and Bart. But here we are in this thread coz I want to know more about Oakland.

Thanks, Manch.