Performance Bond for a New Build in Lafayette

Hello Folks,I have been working for almost 15 months to get approval from Lafayette City and Contra Costa County to get construction started on our home. The lot was undeveloped when we bought it(we have developed it - PGE, EBMUD, CCCSD) and is now ready with utilities. When i secured a construction loan last year to make this happen, we had a general contractor come on board to help close the construction loan. The loan required a contractor to be on the record to show that this person was going to build the home with the allotted budget. Of course when the contractor signed the contract endorsed by the bank he said “we will make it work” in the budget and “we will get creative” and “move monies around” and make this happen. I have gotten in a situation now where the real costs are estimated to be 150k more than what was agreed. Every time i ask on specifics about how we will make it work, he skirts the topic.

What sort of a legal action can i take to make sure the home is built within the budget? The contractor can basically throw the towel anytime, correct? I have heard about performance bonds but not sure how they work. Upon doing a simple G Search i leant that they ensure the completion of a project in a stipulated budget. When we closed on the loan, we did not secure any sort of a performance bond. However, we have not started to build the home yet(just developed it so far). Any idea if i can purchase a performance bond now and how they work.

Any sort of advice, recommendation will be really appreciated. Thank you.