Some Tips on Fundamental Analysis and Properly Reading Financial Statements. - Copied from blog

Hi everyone, this is my first post and I am new to reddit so constructive feedback would be nice and such.

A little bit about myself is that I am a finance student and an active investor in the stock market; with finance also comes some knowledge of understanding accounting. I got bored today and have been reading a lot of posts on reddit and found that there is not many in-depth attempts on fundamental analysis other than vague discussion on certain sectors and their potential for the future.

But maybe that’s because people don’t know enough regarding fundamental analysis itself and/or don’t have enough time to learn it?

Fundamental analysis is not only observations on the sector and what the company has done/wants to do, but its also how well-equipped is the company able to achieve not only its own expectations, but Wall Street’s expectations? How has the company performed in the past quarters and how will they LIKELY perform in the following quarter(s)?

Large dips in the stock price from prior months obviously signify a lacking investor sentiment, but practicing actually going over what made the stock drop will make you a better investor. Don’t just read the articles! Go to the earnings report and/or the conference call, did they report less revenue than expected? Did they not beat EPS? Did they cut their outlook?

There is a lot of information that many people do not know in terms of reading financial statements and one glance at it can often turn people away since they can be somewhat difficult to read.

So I thought that I would make a short, little mini-guide and provide some general tips and info on how to read them and what to look for!

• Pick a company and follow along with the post!(If you’re a business mjr student, you probably already know all this)

First, Look At The Balance Sheet.