Impact of Tax Reform on Rental Income

Hi All, new here but used to post occasionally on Redfin BA.

The house and senate tax bills aren’t great for primary residences for reasons already discussed, but the 23% deduction for pass through income (reducing the maximum tax rate for LLCs, etc. to 25%) seems like a major win for rental property owners. Am I correct in thinking that you need to put your rentals in an LLC or S corp to take advantage of this? The bill explicitly states that it does not apply to trusts. Based on my read of the bill, it would not apply to rentals owned as individuals and reported on Schedule E, but I’m not a tax professional and would love to hear other opinions.

Looks likes it’s finally time to put the rentals in an LLC…

2 Likes

Maybe S Corp is best… Not sure. Might be an issue if financing is in place…
Another issue is capital gains. If you sell, is it a capital gain or income to the SCorp?

1 Like

To get the LLC tax treatment, do you have to transfer title to LLC? If you transfer the tilte to LLC and continue to pay mortgages, will your lender be able to find out about the title transfer and can they recall your mortgage?

Once transferred to LLC, I think it would be hard to do refinance

Of course, you can leave the highly mortgaged property to personal tax, only transfer paid off property to LLC.

Question would be whether it’s worthwhile to lower leverage and lower total potential investment size in order to get some tax benefit which might be small?

1 Like

This issue was talked about in various threads for like 4-5 times. I asked that question since Trump has proposed his tax plan while campaigning for President. My conclusion:

Preferred approach: Ensure aggregate P&L for rentals to be negative i.e. no tax is due, through a combo of mortgage interest (re-financing if necessary), depreciation (1031 and buy more houses) and continuous home improvements & re-modeling (increase your value of your house too).