Our site has the feature to “ignore” another user. Think of it as a “block” button but with a sunset. You can choose to not see another user’s posts for a maximum of 4 months at a time. After that you can choose to ignore them again or give them another chance.
I have actually not used the feature myself. So let me know how it goes.
You can ignore other users via two places:
From the User’s profile page:
From your own preference page:
When you ignore a User, then the following rules apply to a topic:
If the first post is by an ignored user, then it is hidden:
If there are replies by an ignored user, then it is hidden:
Quotes by an ignored user are also hidden:
If an ignored user is replying at real-time, we won’t show any visual feedback: