ADU conversion from recreation detached unit 950SQ

Hi.

I am about to move in and consider ADU conversion. I am a newbie.

• Exist recreation detached unit 950SQ with a permit construction
  • 950SQ
  • Half bath and air conditioner exist. heater(?)
  • Investigating permit rule. So far the home in 95124 in San Jose but it state “incorporated” R1-8 zone. I am not sure exactly the rule as incorporated. But the initial design contract told me your home does not qualify for San Jose city rule(removed limit 800SQ) because your home is an incorporated zone. Stated need to following Santa Clara Count rule.

Questions.

• What is the general floor plan design cost with submitting a permit, docs fee?
  • What is general conversion cost from the existing 950SQ unit. It has half bathroom so I believe the water pipeline already exists.
  • ADU will have separate water, electricity meter, and post office address? Tenants will directly pay all the utility fee or I pay and request them? Garbage can service will be separate or combine with our main home?
  • Better build the separation fence around the building for privacy? Separate entrance already plans.
  • What other things need to consider?

Any recommendation design or builder contractor is welcome.

Thank you
Jason.

Just say no to ADUs

Anyone recently completed ADU project in Bay area? Looking for referral GC.

Thank you for the referal. Have you use this builder?

Yes, but this was pre-Covid. Detached ADU in Hayward. Good professional team, responsive, and hand-hold through the process. I believe it was high $200s or low $300s per sq ft costs but it was a while now. I’m sure the price is higher now given labor/material costs.

Good open, modern, clean designs. I want to say they are more middle to upper-mid end but I just needed mid or lower for my situation (average tenants in average areas).

With that said, I would definitely put them in the running among your other referrals.