Anyone know a GREAT architect or expeditor to get me through SF Planning?

Hi everyone, I’m trying to get a permit to build another unit on my property in SF. My previous architect was inexperienced and as a result, my project has been stuck in planning for a year. I need someone who is familiar with the hard and soft rules, someone who know how to talk to the planners. Any help is welcome! Thanks in advance

@sfdragonboy

1 Like

Are you trying to add second unit to a single family house? Make sure that you understand rent control before proceeding

1 Like

Are you sfdragonboy?

Why can not you use your old username?

1 Like

Elt1 is an architect.

Structural Engineer. I would rather get a root canal than submit plans to SF . They have expeditors in house at the building department. Pay extra and get faster approval. Legal bribe…

2 Likes

No, I’m not sfdragonboy. I was trying to @ him bc he mentioned his architect in another thread. As a newbie, I didn’t know got to message him or if that’s even possible.

I would rather get a full mouth reconstruction than deal with SF planning! Maybe you know of an architect who enjoys being tortured? Haha

They have in house expeditors? Really? Do I just go to the building department and ask for them?

It’s a 3 unit building. I’m trying to add a 4th one. Already rent-controlled :frowning: the 4th will be as well even though it’s a new construction. SF planning considers it “building expansion”.

1 Like

It is quite ironic, that despite all the hollow rhetoric, cities are determined to make building more housing more difficult than ever.

Not an endorsement. FYI

I recommend Steve Simpson AIA

https://www.houzz.com/pro/sdg-architects/sdg-architecture-inc

2 Likes

What part of the process are you stuck at? Have you already done the neighborhood pre app mtg? 311? Has anyone filed a DR?

We’ve done the pre-app meeting, not 311 yet. There may be a problematic neighbor, who happens to be a real estate developer himself (how ironic).