Off market deal

I am considering an off market deal in San Jose Lynbrook area . Its a tear-down on around 6500 sq ft lot. Planning to tear down and build a home of around 2800 sf. Asking $1.4M. It is on busy street though. Estimating around $600K for design and construction and around 18 to 24 months to complete.
I am new to San Jose area and so not sure if its a decent deal to pursue. I’d appreciate any guidance.

Not sure if yours is related to this. The one is a tear down one just closed: https://www.redfin.com/CA/San-Jose/1017-Miller-Ave-95129/home/794307

I think 600K for 2800 sqft might be a bit low. I haven’t done my own building, but I have been advice to budget at least 250 / sqft, but preferable around 350 / sqft.

1 Like

I think that miller Ave one is far from a tear down. Just cosmetic fixes will do. West San Jose is not the place to perform grandiose designs. Only if you want to be a pioneer in this neighborhood.

It apparently has half the amount of foundation pillar than it supposed to have or something like that. Seller was only accepting cash offer.

Negatives like this always scare me away. Cars whizzing by would be noisy and at night car lights might be an irritation. I don’t personally know San Jose well but maybe you can divulge at least the main drag that is the busy street so that folks like @Jil or @manch and others can chime in since they know the area. If you have kids, a busy street would be a turn-off since they can’t play safely in the street (and only on the property which is good size sounds like). Also, depending on how you plan to place your garage relative to the busy street, will it be difficult to back up and out onto the street?

Teardowns work in $1000/sf neighborhoods. … $500/sf neighborhoods fugetaboutit

2 Likes

Just checked, WSJ Lynbrook side hardly one home is on market (5766 W Walbrook Dr SAN JOSE, CA 95129)