Pension Plan for Self Employed

I just found out as a business owner I can set up a pension plan for myself. And the tax saving is eye-watering!

Here is an example I found on “Dedicated DB”, a local company providing these kinds of plans:

RETIREMENT PLAN SAVING LIMITS
For a Client Age 52 Earning $265,000

Jesus, so the taxable part is only 43K out of 265K!

W2 income sucks, unless it’s one you pay yourself. US tax system is rigged let me tell you… If you think corporate America is hurting for paying too much taxes, think again. You as individual may be paying too much, most certainly not businesses.

2 Likes

Don’t ever run for political office then. Romney used this trick while at Bain. He got a lot of grief for being a tax dodger.

Like Trump said, Romney made the fatal mistake in showing his tax return. Trump’s return is 10x worse so he never showed it. Anyway I talked too much here and elsewhere I can never be a pol. :smile:

2 Likes

I heard of this defined benefit plan but did not spend much time to understand the details.

The fees for the plan might be very expensive. Also you are required to forecast your income so that you are able to contribute enough to fund your pension. There is penalty if your income falls and you can’t afford contribution any more.

Also if you have any emoloyees, you may have to provide the same pension to your employees.

It’s a tax deferred plan, you will pay tax when you retire and start getting pension income.

Can landlord qualify for the plan when you have sized net rental income?

Is this pension contribution also free from California income tax?

Business tax is not a good idea. I think we can get rid of business income tax and only tax for personal income, capital gain, sales tax. Business tax is a double tax that discourages job creation.

1 Like