Tax Benefit of Real Estate Holding

I happened to read a question in reddit and took some summary/excerpts from the discussion. Here I am sharing the details, it is pure raw copy and paste. I do not know whether it is meaningful or useful to you, but thought of sharing my notes. The person answering is a CPA.

Question:

I was recently listening to a podcast with Robert Kiyosaki. In the podcast he was talking about he pays zero income tax. While I respect Robert and think he’s a smart man, he literally never gives actionable advice. I am no newb to finance, and I’ve achieved FI via investing in securities (REIT’s, Annuities, Munis, Blue Chips, etc.) and paying off any debt, but I am new to direct and leveraged investments into real estate. Can anyone give me a simple explanation of the tax benefits of owning rentals? I’m not looking to make a huge amount of money (and honestly I don’t think I will buy anything until we have the next recession) but I am interested. The idea of lowering my income taxes is also appealing.

Answer 1:

Think of investing in real estate rentals as tax DEFERRED rather than tax FREE income. When investing in rentals (with leverage), you get two major write-offs against the rental income: mortgage interest and depreciation of the rental property. The combination of these two in many cases will offset all rental income, so you’re tax free in the current year. The tax bill comes due when/if you sell.

Say theoretically you buy a $100k rental property and depreciate it at $3k per year for 10 years, at which point you sell it for $125k. Your tax bill at that point would be based on capital gains of $55k ($125k sales price less depreciated value of $70k).

Further Answer:

I’m going to correct a few things here…