does this home worth it?

https://www.redfin.com/CA/Santa-Clara/2250-Monroe-St-95050/unit-207/home/1220949

1 Like

Welcome, Alex. Let’s see what the Santa Clara County experts have to say…

1 Like

While we are waiting for the real experts, here are a few discussion points. Do you plan to hold more than five years? If so, it is worth it according to “online calculator”. Less time if paying all cash, about three years. The calculator is from Zillow but I adjusted for hoa and for it being an investment property not live-in. I am familiar with the area, it’s a busy area, pretty clean other than a bit o’the smog and it is safe and desirable.

1 Like

Surprised it hasn’t sold yet. Does seem like a good price, but not so great schools.

2 Likes

Thanks for the information. Yes I’m planning to stay more than five years or so, that shouldn’t be an issue. I’m a single young tech professional and I’m planning also to rent one of the rooms for a while as well. I’m gonna visit the place soon. What I don;t like the most about the place is the HOA, it’s a bit high. Unfortunately my budget is far less than buying a SFH …

1 Like

I don’t care much about the schools, I’m far from that level currently

Find out what the HOA includes. If that includes water, sewer, and trash, then it’s not bad. Paying for those separately would be about half the HOA fee.

2 Likes

IMO, this is a much better deal for the same price.

https://www.redfin.com/CA/Santa-Clara/972-Kiely-Blvd-95051/unit-F/home/1578033

It’s literally surrounded by green space and steps away from restaurants on Homestead.

3 Likes

yes. Will check once I visit.

will check it out. However, I don’t prefer that area. It’s not the safest place in the area.

The Bay Area is gentrifying. Less safe (but not too unsafe areas) will become safer and the values go up.