Solar Stocks (FSLR, SPWR...) anyone?

Has anyone here invested in solar stocks. I have been sitting on huge losses in FSLR and SPWR but holding on hoping they’ll eventually recover. Had SCTY in red but sold it too soon after merger with TSLA and now regretting not holding long enough.

With today’s 5%+ appreciation, do you guys think solar stocks are on the way to recovery? Or is this a flash in the pan based on some stupid comments about ‘the wall’ by you-know-who.

1 Like

Same here.

I thought all that production from China eroded any and all profit margins from the solar game, no?

Yes, but solar industry is cyclical and nascent. While I am no expert, reading all the reports while sitting on huge losses leads me to believe that solar industry will go thru many ups/downs in stock market performance before it reaches any resemblance of settling down. That means stellar years like 2015 and crashes like 2016. This is mainly due to high velocity of disruption in both tech as well as business model coupled with mushrooming of new players in times of boom and consolidation when going bust. SunEdison was one of the most prominent busts last year!

1 Like

I am assuming you hold the same conviction that these 2 are quality players who’ll eventually recover and hence it’s better to hold long term than get spooked and harvest losses now.

I honestly don’t know enough about the different players. However, I’d much rather invest in a company that installs and maintains the equipment vs. manufactures it. Manufacturing is a race to the bottom on cost. China will win. Installation and maintenance are local.

1 Like

SPWR best efficiency, FSLR lowest cost, look like a good pair. Harvesting loss can be done anytime, no urgency.
No idea whether they would recover. Probably like PC industry, eventually all the players lost. Hopefully, before that, either one or both behaves like Dell, HP and Compaq. :grin: